DataPop Gets $1.7M

socalTECH

Los Angeles-based DataPop , a new paid search ad management firm started by a pair of Overture/Yahoo Search Marketing veterans, has raised $1.7M The company's technology allows search marketers to automatically create more relevant search ads, which result in a better response rate than a standard generic ad. DataPop is one of the companies in LaunchpadLA, the business mentoring and incubation effort being spearheaded by GRP Partners' Mark Suster.

Why Has LA Suddenly Gotten So Much Attention from VCs and Entrepreneurs?

Both Sides of the Table

He presented a system where your search results would be ranked based on companies bidding for placement and where merchants would be charged on a “cost per click” basis (CPC). Ad Words as you likely know are the paid results you see when you do a Google search.

Top 30 Startup Technology and Product Posts for September 2010

SoCal CTO

How-to get that guy as your mentor - Gabriel Weinberg , September 20, 2010 Forming a couple of good mentor relationships can help bridge the gap between startup failure and success, especially for first-time entrepreneurs. But how do you actually get the right people to be your mentors? Some of the traffic-tactics we use involve good old fashioned payola: paid search, banner ads, affiliate programs, etc.

Interview with Julie Novack, PartySlate

socalTECH

What we're doing now, is creating our Series A deck, and one of our mentors, Sam Yagan of Match.com has advised us, is you need to think what you want your Series A deck to look like well in advance, 9 months or longer ahead, and start meeting with potential investors well before then to ask them if they'd invest if they saw these things in a company like PartySlate. Looking for someone who can put together that perfect wedding or corporate event?

How to Measure & Track Marketing

Jason Nazar

I’ve been a part of dozens (maybe hundreds) of product launches And in each of these cases I ask my team to put together a simple dashboard of a small set of metrics for our paid and free products that let me know the success of our efforts. Paid Product Metrics. For example, if it costs $1,000 on Google paid search to get 500 people to visit your site and five of those people purchase an item, your CAC is $200 ($1,000/5).

CPC 40

How to Measure & Track Marketing

Jason Nazar

I’ve been a part of dozens (maybe hundreds) of product launches And in each of these cases I ask my team to put together a simple dashboard of a small set of metrics for our paid and free products that let me know the success of our efforts. Paid Product Metrics. For example, if it costs $1,000 on Google paid search to get 500 people to visit your site and five of those people purchase an item, your CAC is $200 ($1,000/5).

CPC 40