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Search Engine Ranking Can Make Or Break Your Business

Startup Professionals Musings

SEO is not placing ads, but tuning your website so that it is more highly ranked by Google, and featured in the first page of results, not in an ad beside the results. With PPC, the goal is for the search user to not only see your ad, but to click on it to get to your website (click-through), and buy your widget (conversion to sale).

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Advertising Wants to be Measurable – An Investment Thesis

Both Sides of the Table

By now we all know that the largest part of the online spend has been SEM (search engine marketing) where people buy CPC (cost per click) links to display alongside the “organic&# search results in the search engine. But of course Google eventually became the massive winner in this category.

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Startups Stick with Organic vs Paid Search Results

Startup Professionals Musings

Paid search engine ranking (PPC) is buying advertising for your business from Google or another search engine company. SEO is not placing ads, but tuning your website so that it is more highly ranked by Google, and featured in the first page of results, not in an ad beside the results. Cost per click (CPC).

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How to Measure & Track Marketing

Jason Nazar

For startup entrepreneurs, you can also track these metrics with Google analytics. For example, if it costs $1,000 on Google paid search to get 500 people to visit your site and five of those people purchase an item, your CAC is $200 ($1,000/5). Cost per visitor is similar to CPC addressed above. Paid Product Metrics.

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Search Engine Marketing - No Panacea for Startups

Startup Professionals Musings

Search engine marketing is simply buying advertising for your business from Google or another search engine company. SEO is not placing ads, but tuning your website so that it is more highly ranked by Google, and featured in the first page of results, not in an ad beside the results. Cost per click (CPC).

SEM 90
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How to Measure & Track Marketing

Jason Nazar

For startup entrepreneurs, you can also track these metrics with Google analytics. For example, if it costs $1,000 on Google paid search to get 500 people to visit your site and five of those people purchase an item, your CAC is $200 ($1,000/5). Cost per visitor is similar to CPC addressed above. Paid Product Metrics.

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Interview with Tim Cadogan, OpenX

socalTECH

For a big company, that might be through their own sales force, and for a smaller company it might be a small team which is operating the site themselves. They can sell those ads on a CPM, CPC, or CPA basis. Google has an amazing position, and is deeply entrenched, because of consumer embedded behavior and business network effects.

OpenX 242